TNW – Tarifverbund Nordwestschweiz

Connection Arrow icon
Arrow icon Connection

A brief guide to pricing tariffs

The general tariff regulations (German) relate to all pricing within the TNW.

The U-Abo, and in the event of loss

The U-Abo is only valid as a legal ticket as originally supplied (not laminated).

Transferable monthly and annual subscriptions cannot replaced. In the event of loss, they must be renewed as for a first-time buyer.

Lost or damaged personal, non-transferable monthly and yearly subscriptions can be replaced on payment of a CHF 30.00 fee.

Residents of Canton of Basel-Stadt should contact the BVB Customer Centre on Barfüsserplatz. Tel. 061 685 14 14

Residents of the cantons of Basel-Landschaft, Aargau and Solothurn should contact the BLT sales office in Heuwaage/Basel. Tel. 061 406 11 88 or 061 406 11 99

Replacement season tickets are also available at manned SBB stations.

Validity of other tickets

Junior Card/Children's Carpool/Grandchild Card

  • The junior card/children's accompanying card (Junior- Karte/Kinder-Mitfahrkarte) allows children from the age of 6 to the before their 16th birthday to travel free when accompanied by a parent with a junior card or who holds a children's accompanying card.
  • The accompanying adult must also carry their own valid ticket (TNW single ticket, multi-use ticket, day ticket, U-Abo or GA).
  • Junior cards/children's accompanying cards can be purchased at SBB counters and costs CHF 30.- per child (please bring your passport or other official ID of the child).

Children

Children up to the day before their 6th birthday travel free of charge accompanied by an adult. If not accompanied, a ticket at the reduced price is required. A maximum of eight children can travel free of charge per accompanying person. Children from 7 to 16 years of age travel for a reduced price. Inspectors are entitled to demand proof of age.

General Agreement (GA)

The GA entitles holders to travel free throughout the TNW area.

Half-Fare Subscription

With the exception of the U-Abo, all TNW tickets are available at a reduced price for holders of a Halbtax subscription.

Gleis 7

If you haven`t yet reached your 25th birthday and like to travel in the evening, then Gleis 7 is ideal. This means you have free travel from 7 pm until 5 am on the following day. In the TNW network,Track 7 is only valid on SBB routes.

Group tickets

Reduced price options are available for groups and school classes of 10 or more. In addition to cheaper group travel, every tenth person travels for free. Group tickets are available at the larger sales points/stations as well as many TNW ticket machines. A requirement from all the transport companies is advance pre-registration. Sales offices will be glad to help you plan your trip.

Basel-City ticket

The Basel City tickets obtained from stations outside the TNW area are only valid in the TNW zone 10: Basel, Riehen, Bettingen, Allschwil, Binningen, Bottmingen, Schönenbuch, Münchenstein, Muttenz and Birsfelden.

Prams, strollers, wheelchairs, bicycles and dogs

Rules covering the carriage of bicycles, prams/strollers and wheelchairs are determined by the individual transport companies.

Prams

Prams and strollers can be transported free of charge within TNW.

Wheelchairs

Wheelchairs can be transported free of charge within TNW.

Bicycles

The transport of bicycles brought on by passengers is possible provided space is available. For all transport companies such transport is generally only available outside rush-hour times and again, only when there is sufficient space. Payment for bike transport is at the reduced 2nd class price for holders of GA, half-fare (Halbtax) and U-Abo tickets. All other owners must pay the full 2nd class price. Family benefit tickets (junior card/children's travel card) also apply to bicycles.

More information.

Dogs and small animals

In principle, a reduced price 2nd class ticket is required for the transport of dogs. Small dogs (shoulder height up to 30 cms), cats, rabbits, birds and household pets travel free of charge if they are carried as hand luggage in bags, cages, baskets or other suitable containers. If these animals are taken out of their containers during transport, a reduced 2nd class ticket needs to be bought for each animal. For dogs with a shoulder height of more than 30 cms., a U-Abo at the junior price is also valid.

Further information

Fine for travelling without a valid ticket

Passengers without a valid ticket will be fined 100 francs. In the case of repetition this amount will be increased (Verbundtarif Nordwestschweiz 651.0).

Map of the network

Tram and bus routes
The greater Basel area

Download PDF

TNW – Tarifverbund Nordwestschweiz

Verbindung Arrow icon
Arrow icon Verbindung

Allgemeine Tarifinformationen in Kürze

Die allgemeinen Tarifbestimmungen (Verbundtarif Nordwestschweiz; Tarif 651.0) enthalten alle tarifarischen Details im TNW.

Das U-Abo / Verlust des U-Abos

Das U-Abo gilt nur im Original (nicht laminiert) als rechtsgültiger Fahrausweis.

Übertragbare Monats- und Jahresabonnemente werden nicht ersetzt. In diesen Fällen ist ein neues Abo zu lösen.

Verlorene oder abhandengekommene persönliche, nicht übertragbare Monats- und Jahresabonnemente werden gegen Entrichtung einer Gebühr von CHF 30.00 ersetzt.

Einwohner des Kantons Basel-Stadt wenden sich an:  BVB Kundenzentrum Barfüsserplatz Tel. 061 685 14 14

Einwohner der Kantone Basel-Landschaft, Aargau und Solothurn wenden sich an:  BLT Verkaufsstelle Heuwaage/Basel  Tel. 061 406 11 88 oder 061 406 11 99

An den bedienten Bahnhöfen der SBB können ebenfalls Ersatz-Abos erstellt werden.

Gültigkeit von weiteren Fahrausweisen

Junior-Karte/Kinder-Mitfahrkarte/Enkelkarte

  • Mit der Junior- Karte/Kinder-Mitfahrkarte reisen Kinder vom vollendetem 6. bis zum vollendeten 16. Lebensjahr in Begleitung eines Elternteils mit Junior-Karte bzw. mit dem Inhaber der Kinder-Mitfahrkarte gratis.
  • Die erwachsene Person muss über einen gültigen Fahrausweis verfügen (TNW-Einzelbillett, Mehrfahrtenkarte, Tageskarte, U-Abo oder GA).
  • Die Junior- Karte/Kinder-Mitfahrkarte kann an den SBB-Schaltern gekauft werden und kostet CHF 30.– pro Kind (bitte Reisepass oder anderen amtlichen Ausweis des Kindes mitbringen).

Kinder

Kinder unter 6 Jahren fahren in Begleitung eines Erwachsenen gratis. Reisen sie ohne Begleitung, ist der ermässigte Preis zu bezahlen. Pro Begleitperson können höchstens acht Kinder gratis reisen. Kinder vom vollendetem 6. bis zum vollendeten 16. Lebensjahr fahren zum ermässigten Preis. Das Kontrollpersonal ist berechtigt, einen Altersnachweis zu verlangen.

Generalabonnement (GA)

Mit dem GA haben Sie freie Fahrt im ganzen Gebiet des TNW.

Halbtax-Abonnement

Mit Ausnahme des U-Abos sind mit dem Halbtax-Abo alle TNW-Billette zum ermässigten Preis erhältlich.

Gleis 7

Sind Sie unter 25 Jahre alt und abends gerne unterwegs, dann ist das Gleis 7 ideal für Sie. Damit haben Sie von 19 Uhr bis 5 Uhr des Folgetags freie Fahrt. Das Gleis 7 ist im TNW-Verbundgebiet nur auf den SBB-Strecken gültig.

Gruppenbillette

Für Gruppen und Schulklassen ab 10 Personen bietet der TNW Vergünstigungen an. Sie reisen mit dem Gruppenbillett nicht nur günstiger, sondern jede zehnte Person fährt gratis. Das Gruppenbillett kann an den grösseren Verkaufsstellen/Stationen sowie an vielen TNW-Billettautomaten gelöst werden. Bei den jeweiligen Transportunternehmen ist eine rechtzeitige Voranmeldung zwingend. Ihre Verkaufsstelle unterstützt Sie gerne bei der Planung Ihres Ausflugs.

Basel-City Ticket

Das Basel City-Ticket, welches von einem Bahnhof ausserhalb des TNW-Gebietes bezogen werden kann, gilt im TNW nur in der TNW-Zone 10 Basel, Riehen, Bettingen, Allschwil, Binningen, Bottmingen, Schönenbuch, Münchenstein, Muttenz und Birsfelden.

Transport von Kinderwagen, Rollstühlen, Velos und Hunden

Für die Beförderung von Velos, Kinderwagen und Rollstühlen gelten grundsätzlich die Bestimmungen der einzelnen Transportunternehmen.

Kinderwagen

Kinderwagen werden im TNW gratis befördert.

Rollstühle

Rollstühle werden im TNW gratis befördert.

Velos

Der Selbstverlad von Velos ist im Rahmen der vorhandenen Platzkapazitäten möglich. Bei allen Transportunternehmen ist die Beförderung generell nur ausserhalb der verkehrsstarken Zeiten und sofern genügend Platz vorhanden möglich. GA-, Halbtax- und U-Abo-Inhaber bezahlen für das Velo den ermässigten Fahrpreis 2. Klasse. Übrige Benutzer bezahlen den vollen Fahrpreis 2. Klasse. Die Familienvergünstigungen (Junior- Karte/Kinder-Mitfahrkarte) gelten auch für Velos.

Mehr Informationen.

Hunde und Kleintiere

Für Hunde ist grundsätzlich der ermässigte Fahrpreis 2. Klasse zu bezahlen. Die Mitnahme von kleinen Hunden (Schulterhöhe bis 30 Zentimeter), Katzen, Kaninchen, Vögeln und ähnlichen zahmen Kleintieren ist gratis, sofern diese in Taschen, Käfigen, Körben oder anderen geeigneten Behältern als Handgepäck mitgeführt werden. Werden diese Tiere während der Beförderung aus ihren Behältern genommen, so ist für jedes Tier der ermässigte Preis 2. Klasse zu bezahlen. Für Hunde mit einer Schulterhöhe von über 30 Zentimetern kann ein U-Abo zum Junior-Tarif gelöst werden.

Weitere Informationen

Gebühr für Fahren ohne gültigen Fahrausweis

Fahrgäste ohne gültigen Fahrausweis bezahlen eine Gebühr von 100 Franken, im Wiederholungsfall erhöht sich der Betrag (Verbundtarif Nordwestschweiz 651.0).

Liniennetz-Plan

Tram und Buslinien
Basel und Umgebung

Download PDF