Connection Arrow icon
Arrow icon Connection

The TNW organisation

The North-west Switzerland tariff network has existed since 1987. It began as a simple association and is the oldest collective network in Switzerland.

On 5 December 2014, the TNW was re-formed as a legal entity. The goal of founding this new Company was the desire by the TNW to strengthen its position of good governance and progress the common strategic issues shared by transport companies and the cantons in which they operate.

The founding members of the new Company are the five transport companies: BVB, BLT, SBB, PostAuto and Autobus AG Liestal, and the five cantons of northwest Switzerland: Basel-Stadt, Basel-Landschaft, Aargau, Solothurn and Jura.

The Company is managed and operated from its own offices in Basel. Its aim is to promote public transport throughout north-west Switzerland by supporting and further developing a uniform pricing system. The decision to create a legal entity was taken on the basis of a legal opinion and was approved by all partners.

The operating arms of the TNW are:

The TNW Assembly

The TNW Assembly is the supreme body of the Company and is responsible for overall strategy. In addition to the transport companies, the Assembly also includes members representing the cantons of Basel-Stadt, Basel-Landschaft, Aargau, Solothurn and Jura. Plenary meetings take place at least once a year. The TNW Assembly is chaired by the Executive Committee.

Executive Committee

The Executive Committee is a part of the Board of Directors and chairs the TNW Assembly, the Board of Management and the Council representing the member transport companies. The Executive Committee is elected to office for a term of three years. Re-election is permitted.

Board of Management

The Board is the supreme management and administrative body of the Company. Its responsibilities are to conduct the Company’s day-to-day business and publicly represent the Company.

The following comprise the current members of the Board:

Ralph LewinTNW President
Bruno StehrenbergerDirector, Basler Verkehrsbetriebe
Frédéric Monard
Director, Baselland Transport AG
Michel Berchtold

Head of Passenger Transport, SBB Central Region

Patrick ZinggHead, PostAuto, North-west Switzerland Region
Roman StingelinDirector, Autobus AG Liestal
Benno JurtRepresentative, Canton Basel-Stadt
Florian Kaufmann
Representative, Canton Basel-Landschaft
Hans Ruedi RihsRepresentative, Canton Aargau
Representative, Canton Solothurn
Antonio MassaRepresentative, Canton Jura

Council of the Transport Companies (Executive Committee)

The Council of the Transport Companies is the committee responsible for operations. It consists of the representatives of the transport companies on the board of directors and the Executive Committee.

General Management

General Management is responsible for undertaking duties and tasks as determined by the Board of Management.